The AFC West Is Stacked At The QB Position

Justin Herbert #10 of the Los Angeles Chargers and Patrick Mahomes #15 of the Kansas City Chiefs are introduced before the start of the 2022 NFL Pro Bowl at Allegiant Stadium on February 06, 2022 in Las Vegas, Nevada.
(Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images)

There’s a famous line from “The Hunger Games” that rings true throughout the NFL.

“May the odds be ever in your favor.”

Applying that quote to the league’s divisions, there’s a noticeable discrepancy between the strong and weak groups.

The Green Bay Packers can dominate the NFC North because the Chicago Bears, Detroit Lions, and Minnesota Vikings have their own share of problems.

Likewise, the New England Patriots owned the AFC East during the Tom Brady era.

In contrast, some divisions like the NFC West are like a gauntlet.

Perhaps the tough competition they got from the Arizona Cardinals and the San Francisco 49ers helped the Los Angeles Rams win Super Bowl LVI.

However, the Seattle Seahawks will be the odd team out for the foreseeable future because of Russell Wilson‘s departure.

But as the Pro Bowl quarterback leaves the Seahawks, his inclusion to the Denver Broncos gives the AFC West a stacked quarterback quartet, as ESPN’s Field Yates reports.

Yates said, “The four AFC West starting QB: Broncos: Russell Wilson; Chargers: Justin Herbert; Chiefs: Patrick Mahomes, Raiders: Derek Carr. LOADED.”

The last word accurately sums up that collection of signal-callers in one division.

Individual And Team Greatness

The confrontations between these four teams will bring nothing but excitement because their quarterbacks can elevate their team’s performance.

Carr led the Las Vegas Raiders to the playoffs last season despite a sudden coaching change and the loss of two players due to off-field issues.

The three-time Pro Bowler finished the 2021 regular season with 4,804 passing yards and 23 touchdowns.

On the other hand, Herbert was the 2020 Offensive Rookie of the Year and nearly led the Los Angeles Chargers to the postseason.

Wilson is a nine-time Pro Bowler and won Super Bowl XLVIII with the Seahawks.

Finally, Mahomes led the Kansas City Chiefs to victory in Super Bowl LIV and has become a league MVP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Mike Williams’ Deal Went Under The Radar On Tuesday

Next Story

Aaron Rodgers Claims He Has Not Yet Signed A Deal

Latest from Sport